Know Thy Machine

I am very happy to be participating in a blog hop bu Shruti at 13 Woodhouse Road. It’s all about sewer’s and their machines…and I love to talk about my machine.

Sew, here goes:

1. What machine(s) do you have? Brand and Model.

I have two machines and both are Berninas. I love Bernina machines!!! My first is the 125 which I use as my spare machine and to take to classes. It is lightweight and does a great job.

My other machine is the 820 which is the one of the loves of my life (after my DH and children of course). It weighs a lot, but it does everything. (sorry for the dark picture)

2. When and where did you buy it? What were the reasons for selecting this(these) particular model(s). What was its approximate cost.

I purchased my 125 off of Craigslist for about $500. I had a very old and cantakourous Pfaff that did nothing but give me trouble and I was ready to upgrade. I had been told how great Bernina’s were so I started looking for one. My husband actually found the post and a week later I picked it up. It was my primary machine for 3 years until I got my big machine. My 820 was purchased at the Sewing Machine Shop in Walnut Creek, Ca for about $7000. I had been looking at the machine for a good two years and even test drove it a few times before I finally saved enough to get it. I have had this machine for about two years and it is a work horse!

3. What do you like about your machine? Have you named it? Have you made a cover for it?

I love everything about my machines. I call my 125 “the little guy” and it does a great job with piecing my projects. I have even done some quilting on it. I love how quiet it is and how easy it is to use. The 820 is called “Bernie” and I love how it quilts!! The stitch regulator is very fun to play with and has helped me get braver in my quilting.

4. Does your machine give you any problems? Could you tell us a few?

My only problem is tension issues. I have to play with the tension a lot, but that is mostly because I play round with stitches, threads and fabrics. I have learned to use scraps to practice before using my project.

5. What do you sew on it mainly? Quilts, Clothes, Bags etc. How much time do you spend sewing on it? What are the features of the machine that help you improve your work?

I mainly do quilts, but occasional do bags. I spend a few hours everyday sewing and most of that is piecing, but I have a lot of free motion quilting to do in the future. My machine has a huge throat and large bobbin (40% bigger tham most) that makes free motion quilting a little easier.

6. What advice would you give others when deciding about which machine to buy?

I would recommend trying as many machines as possible. You won’t know what you like until you try it.

7. Will you share with us a special memory associated with your machine?

My 6 year old and I used my little machine to makes his first quilt. He has also made some quilt blocks and we have fixed a few shirts. My youngest (who is a little blurry since he doesn’t stop moving) likes to bring me projects that he wants me to fix and then he will play next next to me while I fix his pants or stuffed animal.

8. If you had unlimited resources in the world, which machine would you choose to buy and why?

I would get the Bernina 830 since it can embroider and mine does not. I would also invest in a long arm machine. If only!!!

Enjoy the rest of the hop and thank you to Shruti for organizing this…I love any excuse to talk about my Bernie!!

About lhungler

I am a stay at home wife and mother. I love fabric!! View all posts by lhungler

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

