Happy New Year!!!

It’s a new year and there are big things going on, so I won’t be posting as frequently for the first half of the year. Why?, you may ask…. because my family is moving to Japan!!! My husband is in the Air Force and he will be stationed at the Yokota Air Base near Tokyo for three years. My kids are super excited (especially Rad since he loves sushi) as is my husband, but I am a little stressed by the whole thing. I think it is mainly the idea of moving my sewing room overseas. I am now preparing to clean out my stash, prioritize what projects needs to be done versus put away until after the move, and find some projects to keep me busy while my sewing machines are in storage. We move in May…*deep breath in*….*deep breath out*….I can do this:)

I am trying not to start any big projects since I am still working on my quilt of Prissy. I am naming it “At the End of Her Reign, the Queen Preferred Quiet Days in the Sun.” My hope is to get all 9 panels completed before May…I have finished three.

IMG_0136

I had made a sewing machine cover for my big machine so I thought I should make one for my little guy. I used the Madrona Road  fabric from the Modern Quilt Guild challenge and a free pattern from Modern Quilts Unlimited Magazine. I was also able to get some Free motion practice:)

DSCN3319

I have joined two BOM. I enjoyed the Craftsy 2012 one so much that I signed up for the 2013 BOM. It’s free and this year is a little more traditional, but still very playful. I like that it isn’t a mystery quilt and I like that they include a coloring page so I could plan out what colors I would use where.  I am using some bright solids with Carol Van Zandt’d Licorice Fizz collection.

IMG_0107

I also joined Alyssa Lichner’s Skill Builder BOM on her blog Pile o Fabric. This one is free, very modern, and is a quilt-as-you-go project. She even includes FMQ instructions. I am using Kona Snow with scraps, here are the January blocks:)

IMG_0133

I am gearing up for QuiltCon!! I made a totally awesome tool bag to take to my class with Elizabeth Hartman!!! That will be 5 days in February with no children and nothing but time to sew and  talk shop!!!!

IMG_0137

But before QuiltCon is the East Bay Modern Quilt Guild’s Stitch Modern Quilt Show. My quilt, “Finding Your Way”, will be hanging. We have a ton of events planned including an opening reception, family day (with demos), textile design Q&A with local fabric designers, a sew day, a lecture by Kristine Vajar, and the really big deal….a lecture by Sherri Lynn Woods!!!! If you are in the area please come by and check us out. The show runs from February 1 through February 24. Visit us at http://eastbaymodernquiltguild.wordpress.com for more information.

DSCN3286

I will leave you with this, my husband and I have started a round robin quilt. We are just using scraps and focusing on improvisation and wonkiness. Dave is working on the dragon block to attach. I don’t know how big the quilt will be, but we are having fun with it.

IMG_0127

About lhungler

I am a stay at home wife and mother. I love fabric!! View all posts by lhungler

One response to “Happy New Year!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

