Challenge

This week has been great! I have been trying several new techniques (to be discussed  at a later time), my 5-year-old son told me he wants to learn to sew, my friend gifted me a ton of quilting supplies, and the members of the guild I belong to (East Bay Modern Quilt Guild) were given a challenge(YEAH!). I will admit that I was super excited at the idea of free fabric since I have vowed not to buy fabric this year. I love finding loop holes in my system!!  The guild members were give a charm pack of  Robert Kaufman Kona Solids in a dusty pallet. We were suppose to make a name tag, but I had already done one using crushed velvet, embroidery thread,  fabric glue, and a child’s bracelet.  

My Name Tag

I couldn’t wait to get home and I put the  on my design wall. I was thinking about 6 minute circles since I had just seen a demo at the meeting, but decided to save that for another project. While staring at the wall, I started thinking about stacked coin quilts. The design is simple enough and it really showcases the array of colors.

RK Kona Solids

 I  found a fun floral in my stash and I still have no idea where it came from. I really believe that I have a Fabric Fairy that comes to visit me when I am sleeping to slip little goodies into my stash. The charm pack solids really brought out the colors in the pattern.

Thank you Fabric Fairy!

The quilt top went together super fast and now I am not sure what to do next. I am still thinking of how to quilt it, but I am really pleased with the direction I am going. I am naming the quilt “Stepping Stones” since it reminds me of pavers in a garden.

"Stepping Stones"

This week I am also trying to finish many other  projects. I am doing my first free-motion quilt with my selvage quilt. A little scary, but also a little exciting. I have had a bunch of new ideas for my scrap quilt border and will be having fun piecing the back.

About lhungler

I am a stay at home wife and mother. I love fabric!! View all posts by lhungler

5 responses to “Challenge

Leave a Reply

