Paying It Forward.

I had shared with my guild (East Bay Modern Quilt Guild) about the ASYMCA program, Operation Kid Comfort. This program asks volunteers to make quilts for the children of deployed service members. I thought is was a neat program and was one way to give back. I had planned on doing quilts for my own boys, but somehow I never got started. Maybe avoiding this project was my way of not thinking about my husband’s absence or maybe I am a bad mom. It could go either way. Well, a very kind woman in the guild, Deanna, contacted me to say she wanted to do a quilt for my boys. I got really choked up because I know the work it takes and I forget that people want to do nice things. I picked up Zeke’s quilt at the last guild meeting and he loved it!!

Zeke and his quilt

Zeke and his brother sat on the quilt and looked at each fabric and discussed each fabric. The conversation included ladybugs, dinosaurs, monster trucks, and favorite holidays. It was a wonderful moment in time for me. My favorite squareis the picture of my husband and kids at the Monterey Bay Aquarium. The family had taken a trip a week before my husband deployed. The picture is one of the last ones we took before he left. After my boys were done looking at the quilt my oldest said, “I miss Daddy.” I told him that I did too and then he said, “We should cuddle under this tonight.” And we did. Despite my son’s knees in my back, the occasional slap in the face when they turned, or the stealing of covers, we slept all cuddled up.

This brings me to my current project. Everyone knows of the crisis in Japan. Like many I was moved to help. I heard about groups of quilters who were making comfort quilts to send over to help families that had lost everything. I knew how much Deanna’s gift meant to me and my boys and I was glad to know I would have a chance to do that for someone else. I am making three quilts using a stack and slash technique. It is a fun quilt to put together. I plan on tying the quilts with a big thick batting to make them extra cozy. I hope to have them done by the end of April.

blocks for comfort quilts

If you are interested in helping, here are some links:

http://quilts4japan.org/

http://www.quiltersnewsletter.com/blogs/insideqn/2011/03/18/call-for-quilts-for-japan/

About lhungler

I am a stay at home wife and mother. I love fabric!! View all posts by lhungler

5 responses to “Paying It Forward.

  • Marla

    This is a wonderful thing you are doing.

  • Stacey

    Oh, now I’m all teary. I can’t even imagine how hard it must be for you and your family to be separated and it’s so sweet that Deanna made a quilt for your boys. East Bay Modern is such a great group of people and I’m glad you’re part of it!

  • MariAnne

    Putting off making quilts for your children does not make you a bad Mom. Snuggling under the gift quilt with them makes you a good Mom. And some day you will treasure the memory of the knees and inadvertant slaps
    delivered during the snuggle session.
    I wish Peace for you. Enjoy your children as they grow up very fast!

Leave a Reply

