Gifts that Keep on Giving

I turned 32 on Tuesday. It is not an exciting age, but I guess I am okay with that. I have been lucky to have some very good friends that had a little party for me with birthday cake (homemade yellow cake with chocolate frosting…my favorite!!!) and wine. I also have to mention the chocolate covered cheesecake strawberries sprinkled with graham cracker crumbs…so good!! Another friend took me and the boys to dinner which was awesome! And today the gifts kept coming when another friend offered to watch my boys for a few hours and she made me cupcakes! It is in these moments that I feel very blessed which causes me to use a lot of exclamation points!!!!

All that being said, I had a few fabric gifts that made my week. As many of you know I have sworn off buying fabric for 2011 which is not easy and I am tempted on a daily basis. I have remained strong until Tuesday when I decided that I was going to get something for my birthday. I had a gift card for my local quilt shop (Cornerstone Quilt Shoppe in Fairfield, Ca) and I had been eyeing a stack of fat quarter for some time. The delicious fruits and vegetables called to me. I have an idea for a picnic quilt. I haven’t worked out how it will go together, but I felt good about my purchase.

Yummy Fat Quarters

I had noticed that on Tuesday my scrap quilt was on the frame (Hattie, the shops new baby) and I discovered today that it was finished!! I still need to trim and add binding, but I am happy that it is home and looks fantastic. There is nothing like a finished quilt to inspire me to get started on another!

Confetti Front

Confetti Back

I also received a very touching gift from my husband’s Aunt Marie. She is a fun lady and is always ready to talk art or fabric. She passed on to me a piece of 100-year-old silk that was purchased by her mother. It was once a skirt and had disintegrated in some parts. The lining has taken on a very cool almost patina look. There are many parts where the embroidery and silk is in good condition.

Skirt Lining

Skirt Embroidery

I need to research before I go cutting and stitching. I want to do a wall hanging and have it professionally framed in order to preserve it a bit longer.

I didn’t get much sewing done, but all in all it was a good week.

About lhungler

I am a stay at home wife and mother. I love fabric!! View all posts by lhungler

2 responses to “Gifts that Keep on Giving

Leave a Reply

