Operation Kid Comfort -Part 2

I have finished my the quilt for my Operation Kid Comfort child!! It took a total of five hours to assemble the entire quilt and I have learned an entirely new method that I will use again. ASYMCA suggested using a fleece backing and no batting. I was not sure how this would work, but the result was a “blankie” rather than a stiff quilt. I will do this for the next baby shower I go to!

First I basted using pins. I normally use a basting spray, but fleece does not respond well to sprays.  I only had two layers rather than three so using just pins workd out great.

Using chalk, I marked my lines that were not on a seam.

I changed the needle to a stretch needle since fleece is very stretchy. I also used my walking foot. I have a Bernina 820 that has a dual feed system which means the walking foor in integrated into the machine. It is easily one of my most favorite features on the machine.

I then began to sew using white thread and a 3.5 stitch length. The resulting grid pattern can be seen easily on the backing.

I then basted around the edge and trimmed the excess off. I then had to pick a binding fabric. I was lucky to have a lavender scrap that was just big enough. I cut my binding to 2 5/8″ and press in half lengthwise. I  sew the binding on the back using a 3/8″ seam allowance (I like to use blue  painter’s tape to mark my edge when I am not using my 1/4″ foot). I then machine stitched the binding to the front.

On the spur of the moment I decided to use a decorative stitch in the center of each block. I chose a flower stitch that resembled the flowers in the fabric.

I pulled the threads to tha back and tied off (the fleece helps hide the knots). The quilt was finished! It measure 41″ x 41″. Perfect size for a little one to snuggle.

These are the types of quilts we will be doing at the Operation Kid Comfort event next month at Cornerstone Quilt Shoppe. Please check it out and feel free to contact me for any questions.

If you are interested in putting together a quilt for a child with a deployed parent then you can contact ASYMCA at this link. If you would like to submit a child click on the link.

About lhungler

I am a stay at home wife and mother. I love fabric!! View all posts by lhungler

Leave a Reply

