I AM EXHAUSTED!!!!

So I am exhausted!! I have been busy, busy, busy with my Operation Kid Comfort events and have been neglecting my other quilt projects, my blog, my house (especially the kitchen), my pets, and maybe my kids. I will admit that I have not even bothered to cook dinner as much as allow my kids to scavenge through the pantry and fridge and eat whatever they can find. I am lucky to have children that eat vegetables on their own accord and I got cool mom points for letting them have ice cream for dinner one night. I have two weeks until the  next OKC event so I have spent the last two days cleaning and thinking of blog topics that are not OKC related (still need to talk about out last event that was fun, but I need a break for now). I then realized that I did two very fun things that I have not discussed. Here is one:

I took a beading class at my local quilt shop. I love the look of beaded embellishments so I was excited about the class. Even better, the instructor provided kits which meant I did not have to suffer in a bead store with my boys trying to see who can create more havoc. I do look forward to when my husband is home and I can take a leisurely trip to a bead store. I love shiny things!!! Below are some pictures of the kit and some of my handiwork. I look forward to putting this new skill to work.

Fun fact: I had never thread basted a thing in my life. We had to thread baste our quilt sandwich and I did pretty good. As much as I love spray baste, you will end up with a sticky mess on your beads.

These are the beads Joyce (our instructor) chose for my fabric. I can’t say it enough, I love shiny things!

I decided to outline a leaf as well as add a flower bead. It is a time-consuming activity, but the results are really cool.

Dangles!

The rope was my favorite technique. Very simple, but looks complicated. I want to put a rope on everything!

My next post will be all about my day at the Berkeley Rose Garden with a few members from my guild and the boys.

I am going to bed now.

About lhungler

I am a stay at home wife and mother. I love fabric!! View all posts by lhungler

Leave a Reply

