THANK YOU!!!

So my Operation Kid Comfort events was a success. The last event was this past Sunday and the ladies got a lot done. I don’t have a lot of pictures because I was sewing and got a little too focused. I think next time I will talk someone into coming just to take photos! Our next event will be in the fall so stay tuned!! Enjoy the few pictures I did take. 

 

In total we finished 23 quilts and 8 pillow for 11 families. These families came from every branch of the military and included all ages from unborn to teenagers. I am personally very proud of the work everyone did! I wanted to be sure to thank everyone who was involved in making this happen:

Giselle Schneider and the employees at ASYMCA. The programs they have created are fantatsic!

Dawn Schwab and Cornerstone Quilt Shoppe in Fairfield, Ca allowed us the use of their shop as well as giving me a discount for items used during the event (mostly thread).

Sharona and New Pieces Quilt Shop in Berkeley, Ca allowed me to bring 3 kits up for their customers and employees to work on. They did a beautiful job!

The Travis Enlisted Spouses’ Club for their generous donation that allowed us to purchase the fleece backing for 20 quilts! And a special Thanks! to Angela Carr for helping me through the request process.

Nese Orlosky for her donation that helped purchase the stretch needles necessary to quilt on fleece.

My sister, Marla Mundey, for helping me go through fabric and match up kits. It was a little overwhelming at first, but it was a fun afternoon and she has a great eye;)

Joan White for helping Dawn and I go through 10 boxes of fabric to find kid friendly fabric. She also was our go-for during each event.

Deanna Davis for donating 3 quilt backings!

Crystal Sowa for coming to my house to help baste and quilt. I could not have gotten through the last week without her.

Sophia, Cat Senior’s daughter, for helping me out with the boys during event one. That was awesome!!

Kristen Takakuwa,  Kim Anderson, and Dan Collins were kind enough to bring some work home to finish. Thanks Ladies!!

And of course to all the volunteers who came to our events to assemble these quilts. Thank you Meta Bonnell, Gloria Gatling, , Joan White, Crystal Sowa, Michael Mills, Asija Chappel Wuorenmaa, Catherine Senior, Patricia Stonek, Ruth Baldetta, Gloria Hyatt, Monica Parada, Nancy Reublin, Kristen Takakuwa,  Kim Anderson, Dan Collins and Heather Jacobsen.

I also wanted to point out that my friends Monica  and Nese are currently doing Team in Training. Since they were kind enough to support me, I will return the favor. Here is Monica’s fundraising page and Nese’s fundraising page. Please consider a small donation.

I will close this post with a quick reality check. Someone asked me how I do it all. I have two kids that are busy and a husband that is gone. We have several animals that require attention. On top of that I added Operation Kid Comfort. I told her very simply, “My house is a disaster!”

So the next few days I will be getting things back in order. I have accepted that it is not about having it all or even a balancing act. It is about doing the best you can with what you have! These are my words of wisdom.

About lhungler

I am a stay at home wife and mother. I love fabric!! View all posts by lhungler

4 responses to “THANK YOU!!!

  • East Bay MQG June 2011 | East Bay Modern Quilt Guild

    […] we heard from Lauren who has been spear-heading Operation Kid Comfort here in the Bay Area and there were quite a few […]

  • annflaherty

    Hi Lauren and THANK YOU!!!

    As founder of Operation Kid Comfort, I dreamed the program would grow to serve America’s Littlest Heroes across the country. Recently, with the dedication of folks like you, we surpassed 18,000 ‘OpKids’ served!

    I pray for the day we no longer need to make these quilts, and for families like yours who sacrifice so much for all of us.

    THANK YOU – THANK YOU – THANK YOU,
    Ann Flaherty

    • lhungler

      You are very welcome! It was an honor to do this and I can’t say enough nice things about this program. Thank you for creating such a wonderful way to serve those serving our country!

  • Operation Kid Comfort is back!! « I want to cut you!

    […] heart since my husband deploys and I know the effect that can have on a family. We did a huge event last summer, but we are keeping things small this time. A few weeks back I shared how we received lots of […]

Leave a Reply

