Team in Training

I have been a very busy bee this week. I have been getting all sortsof little tasks accomplished that do not involve cleaning my kitchen. For the most part, I am pretending that my kitchen doesn’t exist and am really happy that my boys are okay with cold hotdogs for dinner. At some point  will have brave that pile of dirty dishes, but until then I will sew!!

 My latest project is for my friend Monica Parada and her Team in Training. If you are not aware, Team in Training is an organization that trains endurance athletes while they raise funds for The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. Their mission, “Cure leukemia, lymphoma, Hodgkin’s disease and myeloma, and improve the quality of life of patients and their families.” Each participantis resposible for raising as much as possible which means fundraisers! Monica and her team have done all sorts of creative fundraisers that myself and my family have particpated in. I am in awe of the amount of work they do for their cause!

Knowing she is always looking for something new, I noticed purple ribbon swirl fabric by Timeless Treasures at the local quilt shop and thought it would make excellent neck coolers for the cause.

I approached Monica about making some for her to use as a fundraiser. She loved the idea. I bought the fabric (which doesn’t count towards my fabric fast since I am donating it and none will go to my personal stash….loophole!!!) and found a great pattern on line. They are super simple and I plan on making some for my son’s tee ball team.

Step 1: Cut fabric selvedge to selvedge 4 1/2″

Step 2: With right sides together, fold the strips in half legthwise. Using a 1/4″ seam allowance, sew down the length on the fabric. Turn fabric out and press with seam in the middle. 

Step 3: Mark the middle of the strip (I pressed mine, but you can use chalk or a pen) and sew down the middle. Backstitch at each end. If you are doing multiple coolers, you can chain piece the strips.

Step 4: I used Aqua Gems, but some prefer Watersorbe. Pour a dash (aka 1/8″ tsp) in both sides.

step 5: Mark or press 4 1/2 ” away from middle on both sided. Sew back stitching at each end.Add more Aqua Gems to each side. Mark another 4 1/2 ” and repeat.

step 6: Turn the ends in and sew across, back stitching at each end. You can make it straight or sew it diagonally

Step 7: Put your neck cooler is some water for 3-4 hours. After that, you only have to refresh the cooler for 5 minutes.

Step 8: Wrap it around your neck and cool off!

Monica will be selling the neck coolers to raise money for her cause. If you would like to donate to Monica, please go to this link.

About lhungler

I am a stay at home wife and mother. I love fabric!! View all posts by lhungler

2 responses to “Team in Training

Leave a Reply

