Desperate Housewives – BURST!

I was recently contacted by QuiltJane about contributing to her Desperate Housewives quilt a along. I have really enjoyed her weekly blocks and was more than happy to create something special for this.

This block could not have come at a better time! I am having a sweat pants kind of day and the kiddos are driving me nuts. I am waist deep in laundry and I really need to go grocery shopping (although the kids don’t mind eating goldfish crackers, cold hot dogs, and apples all day) and all I wanted to do is work on this block and not worry about anything else. Talk about a desperate housewife!!

I have never designed a block before and enjoyed the challenge. The inspiration came to me while drawing pinwheels. I liked the idea of something that looked like it was exploding (with imagination, good vibes, world peace, frustration homicidal rage, whatever). I wanted to do something dramatic so I chose black and aqua blue for my colors.

What you will need:

4 – 5″ squares cut into 8 half square triangles (black)

4 – 2.5″ squares (aqua)

4 – 1″ x 7.5″ strips (aqua)

Step One:

Mark the middle of your triangles and strips. I did this by finger pressing, but you can use whatever marking technique you like.

Then pin one strip onto a triangle making sure to line up the middles.

Repeat this on three more strips.

Sew the strips using a 1/4″ seam. I like to use chain piecing.

Press towards the strip.

You will have four strips sewn to four triangles.

Step Two

Pin the next triangle onto the strip making sure to match up the middles.

You will have four large black squares with an aqua strip down the middle.

Sew and Press.

Step Three

Clean up one corner of all four squares using a straight edge.

Step Four

Using a disappearing ink pen or chalk, diagonally mark through the center of your aqua squares.

Pin the small aqua squares to the clean corner or your large square.

Sew down the center of each square.

Step 5

Cut your small squares leaving a 1/4″ seam allowance.

Press the square so the aqua is now in the corner.

You will now have 4 squares that resemble arrows.

Step 6

Point the arrows to each other.

Sew the top two arrow together, matching the aqua seams. I pressed the seams to one side, but you could press them open to reduce bulk.

Step 7

Sew the top to the bottom making sure to match your aqua seams.

Press.

Using a square ruler, trim your square to size.

Voila!! You have made my new block Burst!  Enjoy the rest of the quilt along and thank you QuiltJane for letting me be a part of it!!!

About lhungler

I am a stay at home wife and mother. I love fabric!! View all posts by lhungler

4 responses to “Desperate Housewives – BURST!

Leave a Reply

