A New Year, A New Challenge.

Since ending my fabric fast, I have been looking for a new way to challenge myself in 2012. I originally thought I would sew for at least 10 minutes everyday (inspired by the book The Reading Promise: My Father and the Books We Shared). This was broken by January 3. I was going back and forth when I thought of something very simple. No patterns. This may not be a big deal for many who have never used patterns in their life, but I do use patterns pretty regularly. I own a lot of patterns. I have a box that I decorated with all my wonderful patterns happily nestled together waiting for their time to shine. I also own a myriad of books and magazines filled with fun patterns begging me to make them with my glorious fabric finds.

NO MORE!! This year I will create all my quilts sans patterns.

Here are my rules for myself. I do not count blocks as quilt patterns. I am doing a BOM on Craftsy.com and I am doing several blocks of the Desperate Housewives Quilt-as-you-wish. How I set the blocks will be my own. Online tutorials do not count as patterns. I will allow myself to be “inspired” by quilt patterns, but I will not allow myself to look at the directions or fabric requirements.

To start the new year I am doing a spider web quilt using selvedges.

I start with my obscene bin of selvedges (I know it is obnoxious, but I like the British spelling better).

I cut a 10 inch square of muslin into 4 triangles. On the triangles I measure two inches from the top and mark (using a water soluble pen) of both sides and then I mark the bottom of the triangle in the middle and 1/4 inch up.

I take my first selvedge and place it on one of the top marks down to the middle mark. I then sew it as close to the selvedge edge as possible.

I continue to sew selvedges onto that side making sure to overlap each one.

I then do the other side.

When I get four blocks done, I trim them to size and press. I could press the selvedges before, but that is very tedious and I am never sure what I might use.

I then match up two triangles(rst) pinning the selvedge edges together and sew.

I do this with the other two triangles creating two halves. I press the seam allowances to one side. You could press the seam open as well.

I then pin the two side (rst) creating the block.

When I put that with the other blocks you can see the spider web.

This is a gift to a couple we know who is getting married. I don’t know how big it will be yet. I imagines a full size, but at my current pace it will be a twin.

I will leave you with this. My husband and I did some weeding in our front yard (in this freakish sunny and 70 degree winter weather) and my husband got creative with our rocks. We know have our own little zen garden!

About lhungler

I am a stay at home wife and mother. I love fabric!! View all posts by lhungler

One response to “A New Year, A New Challenge.

Leave a Reply

