Meeting new people, learning new things.

This year, my creative focus is all about trying new things. I took a color class at New Pieces in Berkeley that gave me a new perspective on fabric. I will be attempting to hand piece a quilt. I have even sworn off patterns for a year in an attempt to be more involved in the creative process of my quilts. All these things have been challenging and not something I would have tried in the past. My lack of confidence was what prevented from trying a lot. I don’t think I am alone in being intimated by someone’s work or deflated after a harsh criticism. NO MORE!! I hope my quilts can reflect this new attitude;)

One thing I have wanted to do but never pursued was an online quilt bee. I was always scared that I would be over my head. I am over that and saw a Facebook post about a Stash Bee. I loved the idea of using what I have in my stash rather than waiting for fabric to come. I e-mailed Sunni and I was in Hive #3. I will be queen bee in November – I am thinking a wonky log cabin but that depends on what the other ladies do. March was our first month and the block was chosen by Queen Bee Deb Gay at Back River Designs. She asked for greens and a pink/mauve batik.

The idea is to make four parts of a block and she will mix our blocks together. Here are my blocks and signature block.

I don’t do a lot of applique, but I thought the block idea was cute and I can’t wait to see what she does with the quilt.

Sunni is creating new hives so if you are interested, e-mail her.

I will leave you with this, I have also joined Craftsy BOM. This is free and they explore a new techniques each month. By December I will have 20 12.5″ blocks in a cute lap size quilt. January was slash and sew blocks. February was half-square triangles and March is foundation piecing. Here are my blocks so far. It is not too late join!!

About lhungler

I am a stay at home wife and mother. I love fabric!! View all posts by lhungler

3 responses to “Meeting new people, learning new things.

Leave a Reply

