Busy Bee

I have been ignoring my blog lately, but that does not mean I have been ignoring my myriad of quilt projects. I am trying my best to get through all my UFO”s in order to make room for more UFO’s!!! It is a vicious cycle.

First off, I have changed the name of my death quilt to “Right Side of the Dirt”.

My mother was horrified at death quilt and insisted on the recent visit that I should change it immediately. She felt calling it my death quilt was awful and gave me an idea from a saying my dad uses frequently. You see, my parents live in a 55+ community and whenever someone starts complaining he asks them, “Why are you complaining, you woke up on the right side of the dirt.”

Here is a closer look of the blocks. I still don’t know the name of it.

The back I did in brown (you can think of it as the wrong side of the dirt) and 2.5″ square scraps. I am having my friend Dawn at Cornerstone Quilt Shoppe quilt this one for me. It will be a stipple with a dark oatmeal thread.

Next, I finished “The Color and the Shape”. This quilt was the first one I did bias binding for and I loved it!! I had to watch 10 different you tube videos before I understood it and I will probably have to watch them 10 more times the next time I do it. But the effort is really worth it and I recommend it highly.

Here is the finished product in all its glory.

This one I quilted myself using a variegated thread. I am really pleased with the result (minus a few tensions issues on the back).

I will leave you with this. I co-hosted a baby shower for my good friend Crystal and the party favors came out great. Crystal is having a girl so I made “Sugar and Spice and Everything Nice Body Scrub.”


Here is the link for the recipe😉

About lhungler

I am a stay at home wife and mother. I love fabric!! View all posts by lhungler

One response to “Busy Bee

Leave a Reply

