Trying New Things.

Not too long ago I talked about a quilt I made using Carol Van Zandt’s collection Tokyo Rococo.

I used Dale Flemings technique called the 6 minute circles and ended up with this.

While I was happy with the quilt top, I had no idea how to quilt it and ended up putting it aside for a few months to work on other projects. It wasn’t until a my Modern Guild meeting when I saw Adrienne’s (aka Little Bluebell) Modern Peel quilt that I had an aha! moment. I would due circles…lots of quilted circles.  Now Adrienne openly discussed how much trouble circles could be with a walking foot, but they looked so wonderful that I was willing to risk my sanity. I also decided to add some straight line quilting that I saw in Modern Patchwork magazine. It would also give me a break from circles.

On top of all that, I decided to add a little trapunto to keep the circles prominent. I did this by spray basting batting circles onto the back of my quilt top.

Then I made my quilt sandwich and spray basted that together. I started with the circles in the middle and used a light beige thread to quilt multiple circles (1/4 inch apart) around each fabric circle…does that make sense?

I used a darker beige thread to quilt lines (1/4 inch apart) down the center rows.

I tried adding some coral lines, but it looked messy to me so I picked those out. The result of the circles and lines was kind of cool

I won’t lie, this was time consuming and quilting circles will make you want to rip your hair out, but if you take your time it is worth it. I finished the quilt off with a light green binding. Here is the finished product (Rad helped me with the picture so it is a little blurry…sorry!)

Here a few close ups my dear husband did.

This quilt now resides at my parent’s house where my mother is using it as a table covering for her dining room table. It gets seen a lot:)

I will leave you with this…I caught hexie fever!!! It’s been going around my guild and I am currently making some hexie flowers for a quilt/pillow idea. Here I am in Big Bear taking some time to sit back, relax, and sew:) It was a good vacation!

About lhungler

I am a stay at home wife and mother. I love fabric!! View all posts by lhungler

6 responses to “Trying New Things.

Leave a Reply

