Ready to get my “Quilt On” at QuilCon!!!!

Like so many of you I am super duper excited to be going to the first QuiltCon in Austin, Tx!! I have been really busy the past few days preparing for this event, including…

Making a new tool/supply bag and a matching travel sewing kit with pincushion:)

DSCN3327

The totally awesome tool bag I technically made a month ago, but the travel sewing kit and pincushion is from this week. I got the pattern from a back issue of Stitch Magazine (Fall 2010). Here it is rolled up…

DSCN3329

Next was to prepare my materials for my classes (Elizabeth Hartman‘s Free Motion for the Home Machine and Angela Walters‘ Quilting Negative Space).

DSCN3330

I have to admit that it wasn’t until I got the supply list that I felt this was real. I don’t take adventures very often without my family so this is kind of big deal for me.

I am also going to three different meet ups. I am representing my guild (East Bay Represent!!!) at the Modern Quilt Guild’s Leadership meet up. No swaps or anything, but they do have a cash bar;) The next night is the Pile of Fabric’s Skill Builder QuiltCon Meetup hosted by Alyssa Lichner. She is doing a pin cushion swap. It is a secret swap so I will show you the back only…I promise you the front is really cute:)

DSCN3331

Later that same evening is the 80’s dance party sponsored by Babylock. I took my husband and boys to the mall with me and found a suitable 80’s inspired outfit that I am willing to wear for other occasions…maybe not the fingerless lace gloves…

DSCN3333

The next night I have organized a meet up for the Bay Area Guilds. We actually have 4 modern guilds in the Bay Area; East Bay, North Bay, South Bay, and just plain Bay Area. I am looking forward to some Bay Area love in Austin:)

That will be my last night in Austin:(

I will leave you with this, my last project before I leave…A Clean Sewing Room!!!

DSCN3336

DSCN3337

As I explained to my husband, I plan on being inspired, by the lectures, the classes, the quilt show, the demos, the meet ups…all of it! The last thing I want is to come home to a messy sewing room where I can’t jump in to my next project.

About lhungler

I am a stay at home wife and mother. I love fabric!! View all posts by lhungler

5 responses to “Ready to get my “Quilt On” at QuilCon!!!!

Leave a Reply

