A Project a Day Keeps Frustration Away!

I am still working on Aunt Marie’s Day of the Dead quilt and it is kind of amazing, but I need a rest. I often find myself working so much on a project that I end up hating it. Then I put it away for a year and then I drag it back out and try to remember my original plan. Since I want to get the quilt to the recipient before Day of the Dead (Nov 1) I need to work breaks into my schedule. Last week was one such break.

I took the week to a project a day for five days. The first project I already discussed was my apron and headband. I was pretty happy with it so I started looking at pinterest for some more ideas.

Day 2 was a needle book:

DSC00088

DSC00090

I like needle books. They are a great use of scraps and they are just cute. And since I have taken up embroidery I always have needles laying around. I also like to keep my old machine needles so my boys can practice sewing on their paper templates. I fussy cut a little drunk elephant from some Michael Miller fabric for the cover and used scraps for the rest. The inside is craft felt. I got the idea for this one here.

Day 3 was a zipper pouch with key fob.

DSC00094

Last April I visited my sister and to keep myself busy on the plane I embroidered this bison design on a scrap of denim.The free pattern is available here.

DSC00093

I had been wondering what to do with it and finally came up with a lined zipper pouch from a free Craftsy class by Kristen Link over at Sew, Mama Sew. The class is called Bag Making Basics: Reversible Tote and Zipper Pouch.  I added a key fob which makes it easy to carry and holds my keys. I used the same material on the key fob that I did on the lining. The easy tutorial I used is here.

DSC00095

I added some embroidery to the front including my signature. It carries all my essentials for zipping around base.

Day 4 was a quilted ironing board cover.

DSC00087

This was one of those projects that I never thought I would tackle. It ended up being very easy, but it is not for beginners (in my humble opinion). I used some fun Echino fabrics that feel sturdy to me. I also used a layer of cotton batting and a layer of Insul~Bright. I also kept the old pad on it. I used several different tutorials for this, but mostly this one (yes, another Craftsy link).

Day 5 was a quilted camera strap.

DSC00092

I got a new camera so I needed a new strap. I mean, what kind of sewing blogger doesn’t make her own camera strap. After looking at a few tutorial I decided to go out on my own. I wanted a small width and I opted to use the strap that came with the camera for the ends. This was my first time using fusible fleece and I must say it was pleasant:)  I also included some magenta suede fr the attachments.

DSC00091

It felt great to have something new at the end of each day and I encourage all of you to take a break from any big project to do something little. It will give you a sense of accomplishment:)

I leave you with this:

DSC00096

My Japan essentials kit: wallet, lip balm, hand lotion, mirror compact, fan, phone, pen, and small coin purse for yen. Most of this is a given, but I want to point out 2 items. On is the coin purse. Most Japanese money is coins and few places take credit cards. I was not prepared for this as someone who rarely carries cash in the US. I have not made the coin purse yet (which is why it isn’t in the picture) but I will probably be posting it soon. The fan is the next item I want to discuss, I got it at the daiso (100 yen store, 100 yen is roughly one US dollar depending on the exchange rate) and it is very necessary. You would think in a country as hot and humid as Japan they would be silly with A/C…you would be wrong…trust me on the fan.

Follow me on Pinterest…lhungler.

About lhungler

I am a stay at home wife and mother. I love fabric!! View all posts by lhungler

Leave a Reply

